2022 CEMT Award

The 2022 CEMT Award is presented to   Professor Harilaos N. Psaraftis

in recognition of the significant contribution which his academic and research activities over many years have made towards the development and achievement of safe, clean and sustainable maritime transportation in Europe and world-wide.”

Harilaos N. Psaraftis is a Professor at the Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Department of Technology, Management and Economics. He has a diploma from the National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) (1974), and two M.Sc. degrees (1977) and a Ph.D. (1979) from MIT, USA. He has been Assistant and Associate Professor at MIT from 1979 to 1989 and Professor at NTUA from 1989 to 2013.  

He has participated in over 20 EU projects, and  has coordinated 3 of them, including project SuperGreen on European green corridors (2010-2013). He has been a member and chairman of various groups at the IMO, and has also served as CEO of the Piraeus Port Authority (1996 -2002). He has published extensively and has received several academic and industry awards.

His international experience includes principal Investigator in many EU projects, coordinating 3 of them; involvement.in various International Maritime Organization, European Commission and other UN bodies committees and panels; Departmental Academic Advisor, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Dept. of Logistics and Maritime Studies.

His external positions include CEO, Piraeus Port Authority (1996-2003); Professor, National Technical University of Athens (1989- 2013); Associate Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1983 1989); Assistant Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1979-1983)

His research has been principally in the areas of Transportation logistics;  maritime logistics; green logistics